Nominate An Educator for "Those Who Excel" Awards

Reminder - 2018-19 Those Who Excel Nomination Packets Available Online

The application for the 2018-2019 Those Who Excel program is available online. This year, applications may be completed electronically and emailed to or be printed and mailed to ISBE, Office of Communications, 100 N. First Street, Springfield, 62777-0001. Mailed applications must be postmarked by Monday, June 4. Emailed applications must be received by close of business June 7

The Illinois State Board of Education annually sponsors Those Who Excel  to honor individuals who have made significant contributions to our state's public and nonpublic elementary and secondary schools. Excellence, Meritorious Service, and Special Recognition awards are presented in seven categories: classroom teacher; school administrator/principal; student support personnel (licensed); educational service personnel (unlicensed); school board member/community volunteer; team; and early career educator. Nomination materials are evaluated by a selection committee composed of individuals who represent a variety of educational organizations. Awards of Excellence winners in the classroom teacher category are finalists for the Illinois Teacher of the Year. Local school district leaders and members of school communities are asked to nominate candidates. This year’s Those Who Excel banquet will be held Saturday, October 20, at the Marriott Bloomington-Normal Conference Center and Hotel.

If you would prefer a paper copy of the application or have questions, please call the Office of Communications at (217) 782-4648.